JazzCorner.com is the largest portal for the official websites of hundreds of jazz musicians and organizations. New features on JazzCorner include the jazz video share where you can upload and share jazz and blues videos, JazzCorner Jukebox, surf the net with Jazz always on, submit your latest jazz news, and check out what's hot at JazzCorner's Speakeasy, the busiest bulletin board for jazz. Be the first to know where Jazz artists are performing in our gigs section, and be sure to listen to our podcasts with established and up and coming jazz musicians in our Innerviews section.


ArrangerBassBig BandsBlogsBookingBroadcastersCampsCelloConsultingDrumsEducationEventsFestivalsFilmFluteGroupsGuitarHarmonicaManagementOrganOrganizationsPercussionPianoProducingPublicityPublishingRadio PromotionRecord CompaniesRecording StudiosSaxophoneTromboneTrumpetTubaVibesVocalsWriters

About JazzCorner:

Contact Us
Privacy Policy


JazzCorner News:

Submit News
Share |

ASCAP to Add Six Music Greats to Jazz Wall of Fame
(Published: May 28, 2007)

ASCAP President and Chairman Marilyn Bergman has announced that ASCAP will add six music greats to the ASCAP Jazz Wall of Fame on Friday, June 1, 2007. Ms. Bergman will host the invitation-only event, which will be held for the first time in The Allen Room, Frederick P. Rose Hall, Home of Jazz at Lincoln Center in Manhattan.

The event will be highlighted by the induction of three ASCAP Jazz Living Legends: drummer Louie Bellson, pianist/vocalist Dave Frishberg, and vibraphonist Terry Gibbs. The latest group of inductees also includes three posthumous honorees: violinist Stphane Grappelli, pianist/composer James P. Johnson, and guitarist Django Reinhardt. Participating in the event as presenters and/or performers will be Louie Bellson, Dave Frishberg, Terry Gibbs, Rufus Reid, Gene Bertoncini, Eric Reed, John Clayton, Joseph Alessi, and Aaron Weinstein.

In addition, emergent and critically acclaimed trombonist/composer Wycliffe Gordon will be presented with The ASCAP Foundation Vanguard Award for his innovative musical activity as a composer, instrumentalist, performer, and educator in the field of Jazz.

The reception will also celebrate the recipients of the 2007 ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Awards. The program, established in 2002 to encourage the jazz creators of the future, recognizes composers less than 30 years of age whose works are selected through a national competition. The ASCAP composer/judges for the 2007 competition were: Shelley Berg, John Fedchock and Wycliffe Gordon. The award recipients are listed below, along with their ages and the titles of their award winning works. The recipients receive cash awards.

The ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Awards are in their second year of sponsorship by Gibson Foundation, the philanthropic arm of musical giant Gibson Guitar Corp., established to expand the company's charitable activities. The Gibson Foundation supports The ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Awards in fulfillment of its commitment to educational excellence through music and the arts.

Commenting on the awards, Marilyn Bergman said, "The young jazz creators recognized through this program represent the future of this uniquely American art form. We congratulate the recipients and extend thanks to the dedicated panel of ASCAP composers who selected the honorees."

More Information: http://ascap.com

Submitted By: jazzears

Email Address:


History :: Contact Us :: Privacy Policy

© 1996-2022 JazzCorner