JazzCorner.com is the largest portal for the official websites of hundreds of jazz musicians and organizations. New features on JazzCorner include the jazz video share where you can upload and share jazz and blues videos, JazzCorner Jukebox, surf the net with Jazz always on, submit your latest jazz news, and check out what's hot at JazzCorner's Speakeasy, the busiest bulletin board for jazz. Be the first to know where Jazz artists are performing in our gigs section, and be sure to listen to our podcasts with established and up and coming jazz musicians in our Innerviews section.


ArrangerBassBig BandsBlogsBookingBroadcastersCampsCelloConsultingDrumsEducationEventsFestivalsFilmFluteGroupsGuitarHarmonicaManagementOrganOrganizationsPercussionPianoProducingPublicityPublishingRadio PromotionRecord CompaniesRecording StudiosSaxophoneTromboneTrumpetTubaVibesVocalsWriters

About JazzCorner:

Contact Us
Privacy Policy


JazzCorner News:

Submit News
Share |

International Songwriting Competition
(Published: September 01, 2011)

Feeling Kind Of Blue? Rev up that Bebop smile and enter the International Songwriting Competition!

Now in its tenth year, ISC is one of the largest and most respected songwriting competitions in the world, providing the opportunity for songwriters to gain recognition and exposure in all genres in the field of songwriting. Prizes include over $150,000 in cash, merchandise, and services including the Grand Prize of $25,000 cash (the largest of any songwriting competition) and a scholarship to Berklee College of Music's Summer Performance Program for the winner of the Teen category. Last year ISC received over 15,000 entries from 115 countries worldwide in 22 categories.

The Jazz category is one of the most highly-anticipated genres in ISC and over the years has been judged by jazz icons McCoy Tyner; Sonny Rollins; Pat Metheny; Branford Marsalis; John Scofield; Ornette Coleman; Terence Blanchard; Medeski, Martin & Wood; and Cassandra Wilson, as well as the legendary music executives Arif Mardin and Bruce Lundvall, among others.

Because the quality of entries is extremely high, the Jazz category is always one of the most competitive, representing an incredible wealth of talent. Winners and entrants have included many up-and-coming jazz artists, as well as many who are at the top of their field, including Grammy winner Jeff 'Tain' Watts, Bill Bruford, Abram Wilson, Jim Tomlinson (with Stacey Kent on vocals), Grammy winner Paul Sullivan (Paul Winter Consort), and many more. ISC is honored to attract such a high level of artists.

This year ISC is honored to have Mose Allison, Trombone Shorty, and McCoy Tyner on our esteemed panel of judges.

Be sure to enter soon because the deadline for submitting entries is September 21st, 2011.

For more information on ISC please visit our website at: http://www.songwritingcompetition.com/

Make sure and tell your friends but don't do it In A Silent Way.

Other Judges Include:

Recording Artists:

Tom Waits; Jeff Beck; My Morning Jacket; Kelly Clarkson; Ozzy Osbourne;Tori Amos; Massive Attack; Darryl McDaniels (Run DMC); Robert Smith (The Cure); Keane; James Cotton; Wynonna; Craig Morgan; McCoy Tyner; Michael W. Smith; Black Francis (The Pixies); Chayanne; John Mayall; Alejandro Sanz; Mose Allison;Toots Hibbert (Toots & The Maytals); Robert Earl Keen; Ray Wylie Hubbard; Jeremy Camp; Francesca Battistelli; Billy Currington; Trombone Shorty; Sandra Bernhard; and more TBA...

Industry Executives:

Monte Lipman (President, Universal Republic Records); Dave Massey (President, Mercury Records); Ric Arboit (President, Nettwerk Music Group); Allison Jones (VP A&R, Big Machine Records); Dan Storper (President, Putamayo World Music & Putamayo Kids); Angel Carrasco (Sr. VP A&R, Latin America Sony Music and President, Discos 605); Kim Buie (VP A&R, Lost Highway); Bruce Iglauer (Founder/President, Alligator Records); Steve Lillywhite (Producer - credits include U2, The Rolling Stones, Morrissey, Peter Gabriel, and more); Anastasia Brown (President, 821 Entertainment); (Cory Robbins (Founder/President, Robbins Entertainment); Brian Malouf (VP A&R, Walt Disney Records) Dr. Demento (Radio Host of The Dr. Demento Show); Doug Cohn (Exec. VP, Talent & Music Programming, VH1); Leib Ostrow (Founder/CEO Music For Little People) and more TBA

More Information: http://www.songwritingcompetition.com

Submitted By:


Email Address:


History :: Contact Us :: Privacy Policy

© 1996-2022 JazzCorner