JazzCorner.com is the largest portal for the official websites of hundreds of jazz musicians and organizations. New features on JazzCorner include the jazz video share where you can upload and share jazz and blues videos, JazzCorner Jukebox, surf the net with Jazz always on, submit your latest jazz news, and check out what's hot at JazzCorner's Speakeasy, the busiest bulletin board for jazz. Be the first to know where Jazz artists are performing in our gigs section, and be sure to listen to our podcasts with established and up and coming jazz musicians in our Innerviews section.


ArrangerBassBig BandsBlogsBookingBroadcastersCampsCelloConsultingDrumsEducationEventsFestivalsFilmFluteGroupsGuitarHarmonicaManagementOrganOrganizationsPercussionPianoProducingPublicityPublishingRadio PromotionRecord CompaniesRecording StudiosSaxophoneTromboneTrumpetTubaVibesVocalsWriters

About JazzCorner:

Contact Us
Privacy Policy


JazzCorner News:

Submit News
Share |

Acid Jazz Groove-Masters INCOGNITO Embark On Its Third Decade With SURREAL
(Published: April 05, 2012)

15th Album Features UK Soul Singers Mo Brandis, Natalie Williams & Vanessa Haynes And The Incomparable Maysa Leak

London, ENG: Legendary UK groove-masters Incognito embark on its third decade of creating funky mind-blowing soulful classics with their stellar new recording SURREAL.

As the preeminent funk/jazz/soul/dance outfit in the world, Incognito, almost singlehandedly pioneered the "acid jazz" movement, scoring hits with versions of Stevie Wonder's "Don't You Worry ‘Bout A Thing" and Ronnie Laws' "Always There," selling more than a million records in the process.

SURREAL is Incognito's look into the future, featuring three of the brightest young stars on the British soul scene: Mo Brandis, Natalie Williams and Vanessa Haynes.

Mo Brandis, who is being hailed as England's John Legend, features on the sultry swing of "This Must Be Love," the two-step of "Don't Wanna Know" and the first single "Goodbye To Yesterday" which you'll swear you've heard before. It's not a Boyz II Men cover, but it's just as good!

And then there's the soul sistas.

Long time Incognito lead singer and celebrated jazz/soul diva, Maysa, whom Incognito mastermind Jean-Paul ‘Bluey' Maunick calls his ‘awesome musical muse,' gives SURREAL the special touch that only she can deliver.

Maysa features on three cuts, the lead track "The Less You Know" which has a big bold Earth Wind & Fire meets Michael Jackson vibe, "Capricorn Sun," a mid-tempo in-the-pocket groove machine and the closing tour-du-force "Thoughtful Fantasies" which sounds like mid-70s Chicago at their horn-blowing best.

New to Incognito is Natalie Williams, a rising UK star compared to Erykah Badu and Jill Scott, whom is most well-known for her monthly Soul Family Sundays residency at world renowned Ronnie Scott's Jazz Club in London. Guests have included Amy Winehouse, Terri Walker and Jamie Cullum who remarked, "She's a truly real, beautiful star, worthy of everyone's attention."

Ms Williams features on the dreamy elegance of "Above The Night," the Calypso-flavored sway of "The Stars From Here" and the sublime "Restless As We Are".

Rounding out the soul train trio is Vanessa Haynes whom contributed to Incognito's 2010 release Transatlantic R.P.M. and has previously worked with Van Morrison, Billy Ocean, Chaka Khan, LuLu, Anastacia, Leon Ware and Mario Biondi. Ms Haynes features on the acid jazz boogie of "Ain't It Time," the tender "Don't Break Me Down" and the resplendent "To Be With You".

Augmenting world-class musicianship and know-how with a modern brigade of soul singers lays the foundation for the Incognito locomotive to hustle and bustle along its fourteen tracks.

Bandleader/guitarist Bluey shares, "I hope when people hear SURREAL they identify with the songs and see themselves in the stories. I hope they feel the bass & the drums in their guts and see this album as a complete work from beginning to end. I want the listener to feel nostalgic and in the next instance to be surprised. I want heads to nod, hips to sway, and hands to be thrown in the air. I want them to say that ‘this album is slamming!'"

1. The Less You Know (ft. Maysa)
2. Goodbye To Yesterday (ft. Mo Brandis)
3. Above The Night (ft. Natalie Williams)
4. Ain't It Time (ft. Vanessa Haynes)
5. Capricorn Sun (ft. Maysa)
6. Don't Wanna Know (ft. Mo Brandis)
7. Restless As We Are (ft. Natalie Williams)
8. Rivers On The Sun
9. Don't Break Me Down (ft. Vanessa Haynes)
10. The Stars From Here (ft. Natalie Williams)
11. To Be With You (ft. Vanessa Haynes)
12. This Must Be Love (ft. Mo Brandis)
13. The Way You Love (ft. Vanessa Haynes, Imaani & Mo Brandis)
14. Thoughtful Fantasies (ft. Vanessa Haynes, Maysa & Mo Brandis)

More Information: http://www.incognito.org.uk

Submitted By:

Email Address:


History :: Contact Us :: Privacy Policy

© 1996-2022 JazzCorner