JazzCorner.com is the largest portal for the official websites of hundreds of jazz musicians and organizations. New features on JazzCorner include the jazz video share where you can upload and share jazz and blues videos, JazzCorner Jukebox, surf the net with Jazz always on, submit your latest jazz news, and check out what's hot at JazzCorner's Speakeasy, the busiest bulletin board for jazz. Be the first to know where Jazz artists are performing in our gigs section, and be sure to listen to our podcasts with established and up and coming jazz musicians in our Innerviews section.


ArrangerBassBig BandsBlogsBookingBroadcastersCampsCelloConsultingDrumsEducationEventsFestivalsFilmFluteGroupsGuitarHarmonicaManagementOrganOrganizationsPercussionPianoProducingPublicityPublishingRadio PromotionRecord CompaniesRecording StudiosSaxophoneTromboneTrumpetTubaVibesVocalsWriters

About JazzCorner:

Contact Us
Privacy Policy


JazzCorner News:

Submit News
Share |

National Endowment for the Arts Announces Live Webcast of 2014 NEA Jazz Masters Awards Ceremony and Concert
(Published: December 15, 2013)

January 13, 2014 Event To Be Co-hosted by Wynton Marsalis and Soledad O'Brien

The global influence of jazz will be complemented by global access to live jazz music when the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA), in partnership with Jazz at Lincoln Center (JALC), presents a live webcast of the annual NEA Jazz Masters Awards Ceremony and Concert on January 13, 2014 at 7:30 p.m. ET. The event takes place in The Allen Room at Jazz at Lincoln Center's Frederick P. Rose Hall in New York City.

For the fourth consecutive year, audiences around the world will have the best seat in the house when they watch the concert at arts.gov/jazzmasterswebcast or jalc.org/neajazzmasters. A video archive of the concert will be available on the NEA website following the event.

The 2014 NEA Jazz Masters are Jamey Aebersold (A.B. Spellman NEA Jazz Masters Award for Jazz Advocacy), Anthony Braxton, Richard Davis, and Keith Jarrett.

The NEA and JALC are delighted to welcome JALC's Managing and Artistic Director and 2011 NEA Jazz Master Wynton Marsalis as co-host with journalist, CEO of Starfish Media Group, and dedicated jazz fan Soledad O'Brien. Ms. O'Brien, an award winning journalist, documentarian, news anchor and producer, was named journalist of the year by the National Association of Black Journalists and one of Newsweek Magazines "10 People who Make America Great."

"What I love about jazz is the search for truth and the creation of ideas--the constant improvisation and stretching of sounds. Jazz is democratic: every one matters, even the audience," says Ms. O'Brien. "It's an honor to be part of a celebration that recognizes brilliant artists, who are spreading the music and history of this American creation around the world."

"The NEA Jazz Masters award ceremony and concert is an occasion for celebrating American jazz legends on an international stage," said Wayne S. Brown, NEA director of music and opera. "We are thrilled to be able to share this moment with a worldwide audience, to enjoy the music and recognize some of the leading artists who have helped to advance this unique American art form."

The art of jazz is passed from one generation to the next, as older musicians act as mentors and teachers to younger ones. This is certainly evident in the number of NEA Jazz Masters who have been educators and mentors. The mentoring tradition is exemplified by the inclusion of winners of the Thelonious Monk International Jazz Competition among the performing artists for the concert: Melissa Aldana (2013), Kris Bowers (2011), and Jamison Ross (2012). Other emerging talents on the program include:

Amina Figarova - piano
Russell Hall - bass
Bruce Harris - trumpet
Yasushi Nakamura - bass
Chris Pattishall - piano
Mark Whitfield, Jr. - drums
Warren Wolf - vibraphone

The Thelonious Monk awardees will join this year's honoree, Aebersold, in performances on stage.

Also on the concert program will be NEA Jazz Masters;

Jimmy Heath (2003)
Dave Liebman (2011)
Jimmy Owens (2012)
Kenny Barron (2010)
George Wein (2005) as presenter
Muhal Richard Abrams (2010) as presenter
Other performing guest artists include Bill Frisell, Joe Lovano, Ann Hampton Callaway, and Jason Moran.

NEA Jazz Masters in attendance at the award ceremony and concert include:*

Muhal Richard Abrams
David Baker
Candido Camero
Lou Donaldson
Roy Haynes
Shelia Jordan
Ellis Marsalis
Dan Morgenstern
Eddie Palmieri
Annie Ross
Randy Weston
Poet and writer A.B. Spellman will also be in attendance to present the award named in his honor.

*Performers and attendees are subject to change.

Live Webcast Viewing Parties
In addition to watching the concert live at arts.gov/jazzmasterswebcast or jalc.org/neajazzmasters, two radio stations/channels will offer the award ceremony and concert on their websites:
wbgo.org/neajazzmasters and npr.org/music. Sirius XM Channel 67, Real Jazz will audio stream the event. A video archive of the webcast will be available on the NEA website.

The NEA encourages households, schools, and community organizations to gather together to watch the webcast and enjoy superb music by world-renown artists and learn more about this most American of art forms. Viewers can connect with the broader community by sharing comments and photos on Twitter using the hashtag #NEAJazz. For more information on webcast viewing parties, including access to the 2014 NEA Jazz Masters publication, go to arts.gov/jazzmasterswebcast

More Information: http://arts.gov/jazzmasterswebcast

Email Address:


History :: Contact Us :: Privacy Policy

© 1996-2022 JazzCorner