JazzCorner.com is the largest portal for the official websites of hundreds of jazz musicians and organizations. New features on JazzCorner include the jazz video share where you can upload and share jazz and blues videos, JazzCorner Jukebox, surf the net with Jazz always on, submit your latest jazz news, and check out what's hot at JazzCorner's Speakeasy, the busiest bulletin board for jazz. Be the first to know where Jazz artists are performing in our gigs section, and be sure to listen to our podcasts with established and up and coming jazz musicians in our Innerviews section.


ArrangerBassBig BandsBlogsBookingBroadcastersCampsCelloConsultingDrumsEducationEventsFestivalsFilmFluteGroupsGuitarHarmonicaManagementOrganOrganizationsPercussionPianoProducingPublicityPublishingRadio PromotionRecord CompaniesRecording StudiosSaxophoneTromboneTrumpetTubaVibesVocalsWriters

About JazzCorner:

Contact Us
Privacy Policy


JazzCorner News:

Submit News
Share |

Roulette Presents: Shoko Nagai tAKE’N sHADOWS (KAGEFUMI) Monday, March 10, 2014, 8pm
(Published: February 18, 2014)

What: Shoko Nagai - tAKE'N sHADOWS (KAGEFUMI)
When: Monday, March 10, 2014, 8pm
Where: Roulette, 509 Atlantic Ave Brooklyn, 2/3/4/5/A/C/G/D/M/N/R/B/Q trains & the LIRR
Cost: $20/15, http://roulette.org/event...
Info: www.roulette.org / 917.267.0368

Brooklyn, NY: Roulette presents Shoko Nagai, tAKE'N sHADOWS (KAGEFUMI), Monday, March 10, 8pm, featuring Shoko Nagai, composition, piano, Moog, Todd Reynolds, violin, Jonathan Goldberger, guitar & effects, Stomu Takeishi, electric bass, Jim Black, drums, Luke DuBois, video art.

An adventurous sonic risk-taker, composer, and pianist, Shoko Nagai creates a new ensemble project that explores the mystery and the wonder of what lies at the essence of contemporary music in tAKE'N sHADOWS (KAGEFUMI). From the elements from contemporary western music and experimental electronic music, Nagai has crafted a white-hot sound - searing and abstract - that surrenders to the ebb and flow of time, evoking another realm, a time and a place, and evokes a dramatic new tale of suspense and intrigue.

Born in Nagoya, Japan, composer, pianist, accordionist, and improviser Shoko Nagai has been evolving as a professional musician for more than 15 years. After graduating from Berklee College of Music in 1999 she moved to New York City and quickly established herself in various scenes performing with such renowned artists as John Zorn, Butch Morris, Frank London, Miho Hatori (CiboMatto), Matana Roberts, Satoshi Takeishi, Erik Friedlander, Elliott Sharp to name a few. Nagai has performed in Paris (at Banlieues Bleues, 2012), in Switzerland (at Rote Fabrik 2012), in Holland (at Bimhuis 2012) Germany (Moers jazzfestival 2006), Japan, Switzerland, Brasil (resfest 2007), Canada (Suoni Popolo festival 2008), and the United States (Freihofer's Jazz festival 2008). She is a winner of grant from NYFA (2010) and Jazz Jaunts (2008). Nagai also composes and performs for film scores: L'AMOURCACHE (2007), directed by Alessandro Capone and conducted by Butch Morris; ANPO, a documentary film directed by Linda Hoaglund (selected 2011 Toronto film festival, Vancouver film festival, Hong Kong film festival, Poland film festival). In 2013, Nagai composed for a Japanese TV network NHK documentary, Things Left Behind, directed by Linda Hoaglund, which was shown in Japan and in DOC NY film festival.

About Roulette
Roulette - one of New York City's premiere venues for experimental music for over 33 years - has reopened bigger and better than ever. Located in a newly renovated 1920s Art Deco concert hall in Downtown Brooklyn, the new Roulette features two levels of seating for up to 400 people
(600 standing), an expanded multi-channel sound system, projection screen for film and multi-media events, state-of-the-art lighting system, modular stage, and a specially designed floor to accommodate dance. Teamed with bold new programming, the new Roulette promises to be one of the most exciting places in New York City - if not the country - to experience adventurous music and art.


More Information: http://www.roulette.org

Email Address:


History :: Contact Us :: Privacy Policy

© 1996-2020 JazzCorner