JazzCorner.com is the largest portal for the official websites of hundreds of jazz musicians and organizations. New features on JazzCorner include the jazz video share where you can upload and share jazz and blues videos, JazzCorner Jukebox, surf the net with Jazz always on, submit your latest jazz news, and check out what's hot at JazzCorner's Speakeasy, the busiest bulletin board for jazz. Be the first to know where Jazz artists are performing in our gigs section, and be sure to listen to our podcasts with established and up and coming jazz musicians in our Innerviews section.


ArrangerBassBig BandsBlogsBookingBroadcastersCampsCelloConsultingDrumsEducationEventsFestivalsFilmFluteGroupsGuitarHarmonicaManagementOrganOrganizationsPercussionPianoProducingPublicityPublishingRadio PromotionRecord CompaniesRecording StudiosSaxophoneTromboneTrumpetTubaVibesVocalsWriters

About JazzCorner:

Contact Us
Privacy Policy


JazzCorner News:

Submit News
Share |

Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Chicago's Jazz Scene (But Were Afraid to Comment On
(Published: August 08, 2014)

I've been listening to Chris Greene Quartet's "A Group Effort" (2012) with Chris Greene (sax), Damian Espinosa (piano), Marc Piane (bass) & Steve Corley (drums). It's a killer. As the liner notes by jazz critic Neil Tesser make clear, this is a brilliant meld of deep tradition & visionary modernism. You can hear everything from Charlie Parker to Prince in Chris's composing & playing, and the rest of the band is equally deep.

When Howard Reich (of the Chicago Tribune) writes up this year's Chicago Jazz Festival, I hope he asks why the Jazz Institute of Chicago has never featured this group - one of Chicago's finest - on the fest, but they repeatedly book less experienced, less musical, less acclaimed acts. What will it take for CGQ to push past the politics and have their music heard'

- Karl E. H. Seigfried (bassist, composer, educator, historian)

More Information: http://www.seigfried.org

Email Address:


History :: Contact Us :: Privacy Policy

© 1996-2022 JazzCorner