JazzCorner.com is the largest portal for the official websites of hundreds of jazz musicians and organizations. New features on JazzCorner include the jazz video share where you can upload and share jazz and blues videos, JazzCorner Jukebox, surf the net with Jazz always on, submit your latest jazz news, and check out what's hot at JazzCorner's Speakeasy, the busiest bulletin board for jazz. Be the first to know where Jazz artists are performing in our gigs section, and be sure to listen to our podcasts with established and up and coming jazz musicians in our Innerviews section.


ArrangerBassBig BandsBlogsBookingBroadcastersCampsCelloConsultingDrumsEducationEventsFestivalsFilmFluteGroupsGuitarHarmonicaManagementOrganOrganizationsPercussionPianoProducingPublicityPublishingRadio PromotionRecord CompaniesRecording StudiosSaxophoneTromboneTrumpetTubaVibesVocalsWriters

About JazzCorner:

Contact Us
Privacy Policy


JazzCorner News:

Submit News
Share |

Tri-Centric Orchestra Commissioning Series presenting works by Michael Attias, Dan Blake, Joseph Daley, Jessica Pavone
(Published: October 28, 2015)

Anthony Braxton's Tri-Centric Foundation, in partnership with Nobel laureate Dr. Torsten Wiesel, will present its third Commissioning Concert, premiering orchestral works by composers Michael Attias, Dan Blake, Joseph Daley and Jessica Pavone, conducted by Taylor Ho Bynum. Previously, the Tri-Centric Orchestra has premiered works by Anthony Braxton, Taylor Ho Bynum, Nicole Mitchell, Jason Kao Hwang, Mark Taylor and Kamala Sankaram.

Tri-Centric's Commissioning Series, now in its third year, was created to offer the next generation of creative artists the opportunity to create ambitious new musical works, following Braxton's tradition of innovative and uncompromising musical exploration. This year, the Commissioning Series has the generous support of Dr. Torsten Wiesel,1981 Nobel laureate in Physiology or Medicine, a global human rights advocate and an ardent supporter of the education and the arts.

From the Angel (Attias)
Agora (Blake)
Rivers We Have Crossed (Daley)
When the World Changes Around You (Pavone)

Tri-Centric Orchestra consists of Erica Dicker (concertmaster), Sarah Bernstein, Julianne Carney, Jean Cook, Jason Hwang, Gwen Laster, Scott Tixier, and Helen Yee on violin; Jeanann Dara, Stephanie Griffin, and Brian Thompson on viola; Chris Hoffman, Marika Hughes, and Tomas Ulrich on cello; Ken Filiano and Carl Testa on bass; Domenica Fossati on flute; Libby van Cleve on oboe; Katie Scheele on English horn; Sara Schoenbeck on bassoon; Michael McGinnis, Oscar Noriega, and Josh Sinton on clarinet/sax; Jonathan Finlayson and Kirk Knuffke on trumpet/cornet; Vincent Chancey on French horn; Sam Kulik on trombone; Jay Rozen on tuba; Matt Moran, Aaron Siegel, and David Shively on percussion; and Taylor Ho Bynum as conductor.

More Information: http://roulette.org/events/tri-centric-foundation/

Email Address:


History :: Contact Us :: Privacy Policy

© 1996-2022 JazzCorner