JazzCorner.com is the largest portal for the official websites of hundreds of jazz musicians and organizations. New features on JazzCorner include the jazz video share where you can upload and share jazz and blues videos, JazzCorner Jukebox, surf the net with Jazz always on, submit your latest jazz news, and check out what's hot at JazzCorner's Speakeasy, the busiest bulletin board for jazz. Be the first to know where Jazz artists are performing in our gigs section, and be sure to listen to our podcasts with established and up and coming jazz musicians in our Innerviews section.


ArrangerBassBig BandsBlogsBookingBroadcastersCampsCelloConsultingDrumsEducationEventsFestivalsFilmFluteGroupsGuitarHarmonicaManagementOrganOrganizationsPercussionPianoProducingPublicityPublishingRadio PromotionRecord CompaniesRecording StudiosSaxophoneTromboneTrumpetTubaVibesVocalsWriters

About JazzCorner:

Contact Us
Privacy Policy


JazzCorner News:

Submit News
Share |

The Richard Sussman Ensemble Performing The Evolution Suite New York City Premiere! December 20 - Symphony Space
(Published: December 14, 2015)

A Compelling Integration of Jazz,
Contemporary Classical Music & Electronics

Scott Wendholt, Rich Perry, Mike Richmond, Anthony Pinciotti, the Sirius String Quartet & special guest Zach Brock.
Master of Ceremonies Todd Barkan

Dec. 18 - Union Arts Center - Sparkill, NY - World Premiere!
Dec. 19 - Arts Westchester - White Plains, NY
Dec. 20 - Thalia Theatre - Symphony Space - NYC Premiere!

"The Evolution Suite by Richard Sussman and the Richard Sussman Ensemble has been made possible with support from Chamber Music America's 2014 New Jazz Works: Commissioning and Ensemble Development program funded through the generosity of the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation."

* * *
Richard Sussman - The Evolution Suite:

Richard Sussman's creative work in the area of music technology has coalesced into a new ensemble and major new musical composition - "The Evolution Suite" - which features Sussman's skill as a cutting edge composer, performer, and programmer in this realm. The music for this ensemble integrates Sussman's many varied influences and areas of expertise, including straight ahead jazz, electronics, contemporary classical composition, and pop music.

The ensemble features members of the acclaimed Sirius String Quartet along with top jazz artists including Scott Wendholt-trumpet, Rich Perry-tenor sax, Mike Richmond-acoustic and electric bass, Anthony Pinciotti-drums, and Sussman performing on piano, synthesizer, and laptop, with special guest Zach Broch-violin. The result is a truly cutting edge blend of highly original and marketable music with a completely contemporary appeal.

Sussman was honored to receive a Chamber Music America New Jazz Works grant in 2014 to compose a multi-movement suite of new music for this ensemble. The new music will have its World and New York City premieres on December 18, 19, and 20, 2015. The suite will consist of five contrasting movements, each highlighting various stylistic and instrumental elements, and will be approximately 45 minutes to 1 hour in duration. The entire program will be approximately 1 hour and 15 minutes in duration, with the inclusion of one or two additional Sussman compositions.

More Information: http://www.richardsussmanjazz.com/#home

Submitted By:


Email Address:


History :: Contact Us :: Privacy Policy

© 1996-2022 JazzCorner