JazzCorner.com is the largest portal for the official websites of hundreds of jazz musicians and organizations. New features on JazzCorner include the jazz video share where you can upload and share jazz and blues videos, JazzCorner Jukebox, surf the net with Jazz always on, submit your latest jazz news, and check out what's hot at JazzCorner's Speakeasy, the busiest bulletin board for jazz. Be the first to know where Jazz artists are performing in our gigs section, and be sure to listen to our podcasts with established and up and coming jazz musicians in our Innerviews section.


ArrangerBassBig BandsBlogsBookingBroadcastersCampsCelloConsultingDrumsEducationEventsFestivalsFilmFluteGroupsGuitarHarmonicaManagementOrganOrganizationsPercussionPianoProducingPublicityPublishingRadio PromotionRecord CompaniesRecording StudiosSaxophoneTromboneTrumpetTubaVibesVocalsWriters

About JazzCorner:

Contact Us
Privacy Policy


JazzCorner News:

Submit News
Share |

Finnish Producer, Arranger & Songwriter Tomi Malm Releases His Highly-Anticipated Debut Album Featuring Jason Scheff, Clif Magness And More
(Published: November 04, 2017)

The renowned Spanish independent music label Contante & Sonante invites worldwide music lovers to enjoy another exciting chapter in its string of quality music collections.

Tomi Malm hails from Finland and has been a respected figure for the past twenty-plus years on the North-European music scene. Malm works as a composer, arranger, orchestrator and producer on a multitude of successful records, TV themes and multimedia scores. In 2009, Malm rose to international attention with the now-classic release of Fly Away: The Songs Of David Foster, also on the Contante & Sonante label. Malm arranged and produced a number of David Foster's classics on Fly Away. Malm showed such creativity and freshness on these recordings that he gained high praise and blessings from "The Hitman" David Foster himself. That project took the West Coast/quality pop music scene by storm, and in the past few years it has become a landmark for musicians and fans of the genre on every corner of the planet.

Tomi Malm returns with Walkin' On Air, his debut solo album, another stunning ride on pop music's most elegant grooves. On this collection of winning tracks, the Finnish wizard wrote or co-wrote all but two of the songs. The track list presents a variety of styles, from jazz-infused pop gems to refined ballads, smooth funky jams and pristine fusion instrumentals. Malm's inventive arrangements and top-notch production is brought to life thanks to the usual ace session roster that includes legends like Vinnie Colaiuta (Sting, Zappa, Herbie Hancock), John "JR" Robinson (Michael Jackson, Aretha Franklin, Quincy Jones) and Simon Phillips (Toto, The Corrs, Peter Gabriel) on drums, Dan Warner (Madonna, Timbaland, Barry Gibb) and James Harrah (Aaron Neville, Herbie Hancock, Chris Botti) on guitars, Neil Stubenhaus (Roberta Flack, Joe Cocker, Michael McDonald) and Alex Al (Michael Jackson, Al Jarreau, George Duke) on bass, Robbie Buchanan (Whitney Houston, Barbra Streisand, Chaka Khan) on keyboards plus Luis Conte (James Taylor, Phil Collins, Eric Clapton) on percussion. The horn department is also stellar, with aces like Eric Marienthal (Chick Corea, Barbra Streisand, Elton John) and Brandon Fields (Tower of Power, The Rippingtons, George Benson) on sax, and a guest appearance from the smoking Santa Fe & The Fat City Horns.

From the first track, an evocative instrumental called Kuwakaribisha listeners will be enraptured by a musical world of astounding beauty. All the compositions are spectacular, but we'd like to mention in particular the title track, co-written with renowned lyricist Jackie Kavan; a jazzy mid-tempo composition featuring former Chicago singer Jason Scheff on vocals and bass. Walking On Air seems destined to become a classic in West Coast/Pop circles thanks to epic performances by Colaiuta and Marienthal. Another stand-out track is Favor, with vocals courtesy of the insanely talented Frank Adahl. Favor has echoes of the best Phil Collins' work of the eighties with stunning horn arrangements and a fantastic groove provided by Simon Phillips on drums.

Malm shows his genius on a series of ballads that range in style from jazzy to pop and AOR.

Show Me A Sign is written by Hank Easton and features a heart-wrenching performance by the late Warren Wiebe (July 18, 1953 to October 25, 1998). Malm built the instrumental track around Wiebe's vocals and the result is a killer ballad with a strong, pulsating feeling. The ultra-talented ZoSia from Poland joins Wiebe and their mingling voices are pure ear candy.

Another highlight is Perfect Imperfection sung by Jeff Pescetto. Malm, on this smooth, soul/pop ballad, exposes his inner Burt Bacharach to create a magical tune that could easily belong in the legendary composer's songbook. You Belong To Me is another spectacular track which offers an outstanding vocal performance, this time by Grammy Award-Winner Clif Magness. Fans of Magness/Planet 3's work will find echoes of it in this beautiful arrangement which flows amazingly with a great, driving guitar work courtesy of Dan Warner.

Reason To Smile is an unreleased gem written by the amazing Jeremy Lubbock (Michael Jackson, Quincy Jones, Barbra Streisand). Malm treated this rarefied melody with respect and the result is a work of art: a delicate, jazz-infused track sung by Julian Thomas backed up by just a Rhodes played by Eirik Berge, with Malm on keyboards. The grace and allure of Reason To Smile proudly stands alongside previous Lubbock masterpieces including Not Like This, written for Al Jarreau, and Goodbye Love, sung by The Manhattan Transfer.

On Wouldn't It Be Kinder, we are presented with another emotional and intimate arrangement, featuring profound lyrics by Cecily Gardner. This amazing ballad showcases a stellar vocal performance by Shem Von Schroeck, Kenny Loggins' longtime collaborator/musical director and current bassist for the legendary group Toto, enhanced by the superior guitar work of session great James Harrah.

Finally, let's mention a few other goodies on Walkin' On Air. The haunting instrumental titled Still Life is quite close to Pat Metheny's territory with its cinematic power. The soulful mid-tempo titled Let's Get To It is co-written and sung by the extraordinary Jerry Lopez, leader of the famed Santa Fe & Fat City Horns. This light-funk jam is a catchy and exciting number in the best tradition of soul giants Earth, Wind & Fire.

Fasten your seatbelt while you get lost in Tomi Malm's spectacular world of music!

Tomi Malm's Walkin' On Air is now available as physical CD and digital download everywhere.


01. "Kuwakaribisha" (Tomi Malm)
02. "Favor" Featuring Frank Adahl (Tomi Malm / Frank Adahl)
03. "When You're Gone" Featuring Julian Thomas (Tomi Malm / Cecily Gardner)
04. "Walkin' On Air" Featuring Jason Scheff (Tomi Malm / Jackie Kavan)
05. "Show Me A Sign" Featuring Warren Wiebe & ZoSia (Hank Easton)
06. "Perfect Imperfection" Featuring Jeff Pescetto (Tomi Malm / Jackie Kavan)
07. "Still Life" (Tomi Malm)
08. "Wouldn't It Be Kinder" Featuring Shem von Schroeck (Tomi Malm / Cecily Gardner)
09. "Let's Get To It" Featuring Jerry Lopez (Tomi Malm / Jerry Lopez)
10. "A Reason To Smile" Featuring Julian Thomas (Jeremy Lubbock)
11. "You Belong To Me" Featuring Clif Magness (Tomi Malm / Jeri Lynne)
12. "Today" Featuring Ashton Moran (Tomi Malm / Jyrki Manninen)

More Information: https://www.contanteysonante.com

Email Address:


History :: Contact Us :: Privacy Policy

© 1996-2022 JazzCorner