JazzCorner.com is the largest portal for the official websites of hundreds of jazz musicians and organizations. New features on JazzCorner include the jazz video share where you can upload and share jazz and blues videos, JazzCorner Jukebox, surf the net with Jazz always on, submit your latest jazz news, and check out what's hot at JazzCorner's Speakeasy, the busiest bulletin board for jazz. Be the first to know where Jazz artists are performing in our gigs section, and be sure to listen to our podcasts with established and up and coming jazz musicians in our Innerviews section.


ArrangerBassBig BandsBlogsBookingBroadcastersCampsCelloConsultingDrumsEducationEventsFestivalsFilmFluteGroupsGuitarHarmonicaManagementOrganOrganizationsPercussionPianoProducingPublicityPublishingRadio PromotionRecord CompaniesRecording StudiosSaxophoneTromboneTrumpetTubaVibesVocalsWriters

About JazzCorner:

Contact Us
Privacy Policy


JazzCorner News:

Submit News
Share |

(Published: August 27, 2015)

August 25, 2015 --- The International Songwriting Competition (ISC) is pleased to announce the inclusion of iconic jazz artists Pat Metheny, Stanley Clarke, Danilo Perez, Jean-Luc Ponty, and Concord Music Group's President, Glen Barros, as judges in the 2015 competition. The panel includes many more high-profile recording artists, as well as Presidents and CEOs from Atlantic, Epic, Elektra, Sony Music Latin, Warner Bros., Tommy Boy, Wind-Up, Alligator, Glassnote, and more.

The 2015 jazz judges are among the most influential and renowned jazz performers in the world, having garnered international awards and critical acclaim.

Guitarist Pat Metheny is the bandleader of one of the most respected musical ensembles of the past quarter century, the Pat Metheny Group. As the only group in history to win seven consecutive Grammy Awards for seven consecutive releases (in all he has garnered 20 Grammys), Metheny has occupied a musical territory that is unparalleled in contemporary and mainstream jazz.

Stanley Clarke is known for his innovative and influential work on double bass and electric bass. He is instrumental in changing the perception of bass as a solo and support instrument due to his innovative techniques and stylings. As a cornerstone figure in electric jazz and fusion (he was a member of the legendary Return To Forever) Clarke has moved on to a Grammy-winning career as a producer, tv and film composer, conductor, and collaborator in many genres of music.

Pianist, composer, and educator Danilo Perez has been a member of the Wayne Shorter Quartet for more than a decade. A Grammy winner, he is one of the preeminent jazz musicians of his generation and is considered to be a piano virtuoso.

Jean-Luc Ponty is a pioneer in the arena of jazz violin and has helped to establish the violin as having a legitimate place in the modern jazz vocabulary. He has released countless chart-topping jazz albums and has also collaborated with many of the jazz world's top musicians, including Frank Zappa, Stanley Clarke, Al Di Meola, Chick Corea, Billy Cobham, and even pop artists such as Elton John and Jon Anderson of the progressive rock band Yes.

ISC offers 22 categories of music for songwriters to enter, including Jazz. Designed to nurture the musical talent of songwriters on all levels and promote excellence in the art of songwriting, ISC offers the opportunity for songwriters to have their music heard by some of the most influential recording artists and industry decision-makers. ISC gives away more than $150,000 in cash and prizes (shared among 68 winners) including an overall Grand Prize consisting of $25,000 (US) cash and $30,000 in merchandise and services. More information on how to enter ISC, including frequently asked questions and rules and regulations, can be found at http://www.songwritingcompetition.com.

Candace Avery, Founder and Director of ISC, states, "ISC's jazz category has become possibly our most competitive category, and the depth of talent is nothing short of astounding. We invite all jazz artists to enter ISC, and we look forward to the bar continuing to be raised in this genre within the competition."

The complete list of 2015 judges includes:

Recording Artists
Pat Metheny; Stanley Clarke; Danilo Perez; Jean-Luc Ponty; Avicii; Tom Waits; Kesha; Lorde; Bill Withers; American Authors; Sara Evans; Bastille; Casting Crowns; Keb Mo; Boyz II Men; Keane; Robben Ford; Hardwell; Eric Paslay; Rodrigo y Gabriela; Jon Secada; Daddy Yankee; Afro Celt Sound System; Anthony Hamilton; Moby; Gerald Casale (Devo); Sean Paul; Justin Townes Earle; Los Amigos Invisibles; Hawk Nelson; Shakey Graves; Darryl McDaniels (Run D.M.C.); Chayanne; Joy Williams; Alejandro Markovich; Matt Maher; Art Alexakis (Everclear); Far East Movement; Femi Kuti; Mariana Vega; and more to be announced.

Industry Executives:
Craig Kallman (Chairman/CEO, Atlantic Records); Sylvia Rhone (President, Epic Records); Dan McCarroll (President, Warner Bros. Records); Jeff Castelaz (President, Elektra Records); Nir Seroussi (President, Sony Music Latin); Daniel Glass (President, Glassnote Records); Ed Vetri (President, Wind-Up Records); Rosie Lopez (President, Tommy Boy Entertainment); Steve Yegelwel (Senior VP, Island Records); Craig Balsam (Owner, Razor & Tie Records / Washington Square / Kidz Bop); Glen Barros (President, Concord Music Group); Bryan Stewart (VP of A&R, Curb Records); Jason McArthur (VP of A&R, Provident Label Group / Sony Music Entertainment); Bruce Iglauer (Founder/President, Alligator Records); Edward Chmelewski (President, Blind Pig Records); Sharon Tapper (Head of Publishing, Glassnote Records); Kevin Welk (Chief Creative, Vanguard/Sugar Hill Records); Angel Carrasco (President, Discos 605); Steve Lillywhite (Producer); Joseph Burney (VP of A&R, RCA Inspiration/Sony Music Entertainment); Richard Stumpf (CEO, Atlas Publishing); Steve Greenberg (CEO, S-Curve Records); Kim Buie (VP of A&R, New West Records); Albert Schilcher (VP of Music and Music Marketing, MTV International); Jamie Masada (Owner, Laugh Factory); Cyndi Nelson (General Mgr., Zanies Comedy Club); Cory Robbins (Founder/President, Robbins Entertainment); Gary Briggs (A&R Executive); Claire S. Green (President, Parents' Choice Foundation); Leib Ostrow (Founder/CEO, Music For Little People); Julie Kertes (General Manager, National Parenting Publications Awards, NAPPA); Nate Dern (News Editor, Funny Or Die News); Wende Curtis (Owner, Comedy Works); and more to be announced.

ISC is sponsored by Ableton, Artist Growth, Berklee College of Music, Celebrity Access, D'Addario, Disc Makers, DW Drums, Focusrite, Gauge Microphones, George Stein, Esq., GigSalad, Gretsch, Indie Venue Bible, Lowden Guitars, LP, Marshall Amplification, Musicians institute, PDP, SongU.com, Thayers, and The Music Business Registry.


For more information about the ISC, please email Candace Avery at cavery@songwritingcompetition.com or call 615-251-4441.

More Information: http://songwritingcompetition.com/

Submitted By:


Email Address:


History :: Contact Us :: Privacy Policy

© 1996-2021 JazzCorner