JazzCorner.com is the largest portal for the official websites of hundreds of jazz musicians and organizations. New features on JazzCorner include the jazz video share where you can upload and share jazz and blues videos, JazzCorner Jukebox, surf the net with Jazz always on, submit your latest jazz news, and check out what's hot at JazzCorner's Speakeasy, the busiest bulletin board for jazz. Be the first to know where Jazz artists are performing in our gigs section, and be sure to listen to our podcasts with established and up and coming jazz musicians in our Innerviews section.


ArrangerBassBig BandsBlogsBookingBroadcastersCampsCelloConsultingDrumsEducationEventsFestivalsFilmFluteGroupsGuitarHarmonicaManagementOrganOrganizationsPercussionPianoProducingPublicityPublishingRadio PromotionRecord CompaniesRecording StudiosSaxophoneTromboneTrumpetTubaVibesVocalsWriters

About JazzCorner:

Contact Us
Privacy Policy


JazzCorner News:

Submit News
Share |

Pharoah Sanders, Gary Burton, Archie Shepp and Wendy Oxenhorn named 2016 NEA Jazz Masters
(Published: October 22, 2015)

2016 NEA Jazz Masters Will Be Honored at Free Concert at the Kennedy Center in Washington, DC, on April 4, 2016

Nominations for 2017 NEA Jazz Masters Open until December 31, 2015

The National Endowment for the Arts will honor four jazz leaders - three musicians and an advocate - with the 2016 NEA Jazz Masters award for their significant accomplishments in the field. This year's honorees range from fiery saxophonists who cut their teeth with the legendary John Coltrane, to a vibraphonist who reshaped the direction of jazz by introducing rock elements, to one who has dedicated her life to assisting jazz musicians in need.

The NEA Jazz Masters award is the highest honor that our nation bestows on a jazz musician and includes a cash award of $25,000 and an award ceremony and celebratory concert, among other activities. As part of the National Endowment for the Arts' 50th anniversary events, the annual NEA Jazz Masters celebration will take place in April 2016 in the nation's capital, in collaboration with the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts.

The 2016 NEA Jazz Masters are:
Gary Burton-Vibraphonist, Bandleader, Educator
Burton's four-mallet technique on the vibraphone gave the instrument a new musical vocabulary in jazz and a fuller, more piano-like sound than the traditional two-mallet approach. He was one of the progenitors of jazz fusion in the late 1960s, and had a decades-long educational career at Berklee College of Music.

Wendy Oxenhorn-Musicians Advocate
Oxenhorn is the executive director and vice chairman of the Jazz Foundation of America, an organization headquartered in New York, New York, committed to "providing jazz and blues musicians with financial, medical, housing, and legal assistance as well as performance opportunities, with a special focus on the elderly and veterans who have paid their dues and find themselves in crisis due to illness, age, and/or circumstance."

Pharoah Sanders-Saxophonist, Composer
Sanders is a Grammy Award-winning jazz saxophonist who has shown a remarkable facility performing in a variety of styles, from free to mainstream, displaying what has been called "hard-edged lyricism." Emerging from John Coltrane's groups of the mid-1960s, Sanders is known for his distinctive sound marked by overblowing, harmonic, and multiphonic techniques.

Archie Shepp-Saxophonist, Composer, Educator
Shepp is best known for his Afrocentric music of the late 1960s, a unique style of free-form avant-garde jazz blended with African rhythms, and his collaborations with John Coltrane, Horace Parlan, Cecil Taylor, and the New York Contemporary Five ensemble. His long career as an educator has focused on ethnomusicology, looking at the history of African-American music from its origins in Africa to its current state.

Wendy Oxenhorn is the recipient of the 2016 A.B. Spellman NEA Jazz Masters Award for Jazz Advocacy, which is bestowed upon an individual who has contributed significantly to the appreciation, knowledge, and advancement of the art form of jazz.

NEA Chairman Jane Chu said, "As we celebrate the National Endowment for the Arts' 50th anniversary this year, it is especially important to honor the musicians and advocates whose efforts have helped to shape and expand our cultural heritage. Through their talent, creativity, passion, and curiosity, these four individuals have made invaluable contributions to jazz and I look forward to celebrating them in Washington, DC, next year in collaboration with the Kennedy Center."

A free concert honoring the 2016 NEA Jazz Masters will be presented at 8:00pm on Monday, April 4, 2016, at the Kennedy Center's Concert Hall and also available in a live video stream at arts.gov, Kennedy-Center.org, and NPR.org/Music. In addition, as a way of expanding opportunities for the public to engage with the artists and their music, the celebration will include other activities April 2-5, such as moderated panel discussions and listening parties at NPR headquarters in Washington, DC, and educational opportunities for local DC students, which will feature some of the 2016 NEA Jazz Masters. More details on these events, including how to obtain tickets for the April 4 concert, will be announced in early 2016.

"We are honored to host the 2016 NEA Jazz Masters ceremony and to welcome four mainstays of the jazz world to the nation's center for the performing arts. Washington has a unique place in the history and evolution of jazz, having been the home of legends including Duke Ellington, Frank Wess, and our very own Dr. Billy Taylor. Jazz also has an exciting place in the Kennedy Center's programming with the leadership of our extraordinary Artistic Director for Jazz, Jason Moran," said Kennedy Center President Deborah F. Rutter. "This celebration brings us even closer to the jazz community, and we are elated to be a part of such an important recognition of outstanding artistry and inspiring advocacy for a true American art form."

NEA Jazz Master awards are bestowed on living individuals on the basis of nominations from the public including the jazz community. The NEA encourages nominations of a broad range of men and women who have been significant to the field of jazz, through vocals, instrumental performance, creative leadership, and education. The NEA is currently accepting nominations for the 2017 NEA Jazz Masters (deadline: December 31, 2015). Visit arts.gov/honors/jazz for more information and to submit a nomination.

More Information: http://https://www.arts.gov/news/2015/recipients-nations-highest-award-jazz-announced

Email Address:


History :: Contact Us :: Privacy Policy

© 1996-2020 JazzCorner