JazzCorner.com is the largest portal for the official websites of hundreds of jazz musicians and organizations. New features on JazzCorner include the jazz video share where you can upload and share jazz and blues videos, JazzCorner Jukebox, surf the net with Jazz always on, submit your latest jazz news, and check out what's hot at JazzCorner's Speakeasy, the busiest bulletin board for jazz. Be the first to know where Jazz artists are performing in our gigs section, and be sure to listen to our podcasts with established and up and coming jazz musicians in our Innerviews section.


ArrangerBassBig BandsBlogsBookingBroadcastersCampsCelloConsultingDrumsEducationEventsFestivalsFilmFluteGroupsGuitarHarmonicaManagementOrganOrganizationsPercussionPianoProducingPublicityPublishingRadio PromotionRecord CompaniesRecording StudiosSaxophoneTromboneTrumpetTubaVibesVocalsWriters

About JazzCorner:

Contact Us
Privacy Policy


JazzCorner News:

Submit News
Share |

Musicians For Harmony Sets 20th Anniversary Concert for September 11, 2021; Lifting up musical voices in the service of peace, health and equity to commemorate the victims of 9/11, Covid-19, and social injustice
(Published: June 04, 2021)

For Immediate Release June 2, 2021

Musicians For Harmony Sets 20th Anniversary Concert for September 11, 2021

Lifting up musical voices in the service of peace, health and equity to commemorate the victims of 9/11, Covid-19, and social injustice

Musicians For Harmony will celebrate its 20th Anniversary on September 11, 2021 with an online and in-person concert at Merkin Concert Hall in New York City. The special event aims to elevate musical voices in the service of peace, health and equity to commemorate the victims of 9/11, Covid-19 and social injustice.

The two-hour concert will be one of the first in-person music events of the fall season post-Covid. Access to the online event will be free, and the in-person show will have paid tickets. The show will feature the music of Juilliard String Quartet, Kinan Azmeh (clarinet), ETHEL and Musique Sans Frontières. Composers will include Ladysmith Black Mambazo, Ulysses Owens, Jr, James "Kimo" Williams, Robert Mirabal, Patrick Derivaz, Pat Irwin and John King. Line-up is subject to change. Learn more about the artists, here: https://www.musiciansforharmony.org

For many years, Musicians For Harmony has been a part of the New York cultural landscape, anchored by an original mission of pursuing peace through music. This worthy organization has been featured in The New York Times, New Yorker, Associated Press, Time Out NY, NY Daily News, Crain's New York and many others.

The upcoming concert marks not only the 20th anniversary of M4H, but also of the attacks of 9/11/2001. This will also be the first performance in M4H history to be broadcast live online to both a national and international audience (all previous events were limited to in-person, New York City attendees.) Tickets for the online event will be free of charge, and concertgoers will be encouraged to donate to organizations helping artists affected by the Covid-19 crisis.


➤ Musicians For Harmony was founded after September 11, 2001, to foster and advance the cause of peace through music.
• 2002 - 2011: Annual concerts and benefits commemorate 9/11 and celebrate music and a variety of cultures.
• 2021: 20th Anniversary event to reunite old friends and introduce exciting new artists in cross-cultural collaboration.
➤ We celebrate and thank the dozens of artists who have dedicated their time and talent over the years, enabling us to raise tens of thousands of dollars for worthy charities locally and worldwide.
➤ Our educational programs have reached hundreds of students in New York City, as well as talented musicians overseas.
➤ Musicians For Harmony has been awarded multiple grants from the United Nations, U.S. State Department, and NYC Dept. of Cultural Affairs, and has received generous support from dedicated individuals and foundations over the years.
➤ Our performances have garnered critical acclaim from the press, including articles and listings in national and local publications like The New York Times, Time Out, The New Yorker, and the Associated Press:

• The New York Times - "sounds rising above prejudice"
• The New York Daily News - "an international peace-keeping force"
• Crain's New York Business - "concerted effort for good will"
• The New Yorker - "The concert event that began as an act of healing in the wake of 9/11 has endured as an annual testament to peace."

Founder & Executive Director
Allegra E. Klein is a global development expert with a decades-long career in music and non-profits. Originally from New York City, Allegra received her B.A. in Music from Harvard University and became an arts administrator for such iconic institutions as Carnegie Hall and Sony Music. Shortly after September 11, 2001, she founded Musicians For Harmony, an organization dedicated to advancing peace and cross-cultural dialogue through music. As part of this mission, she traveled to Baghdad in 2003 to bring musical instruments and supplies to the Iraqi National Symphony Orchestra, and returned in 2007 to teach for the first-ever Iraqi Unity Performing Arts Academy. Her articles about these trips were published in Strings and Symphony magazines, and her work has been profiled in the New York Times, New York Sun, New York Daily News, and Chamber Music magazine. Read her full biography, here: https://musiciansforharmony.org/about/

Visit: https://musiciansforharmony.org

More Information: http://https://musiciansforharmony.org

Email Address:


History :: Contact Us :: Privacy Policy

© 1996-2021 JazzCorner