O Nosso Amor
Mark Weinstein

CD Price: $16.00

$4.00 USA
$6.00 Canada
$10.00 International

Add to Cart

Track Listing
1. Bahia
2. Lugar Conum
3. Sampa 67
4. Falando de Amor
5. Frevo Camarada
6. O Nosso Amor
7. Batucada
8. Naquele Tempo
9. Marka Som
10. Um a Zero
11. Por Causa de Voce
12. Capoeira

Detailed Description / Musicians
Mark Weinstein - soprano, alto and bass flutes
Romero Lubambo - classical guitar
Nilson Matta - acoustic bass
Paulo Braga - drums
Guilherme Franco - percission
Jorge Silva - percussion

Flautist Mark Weinstein is joined by some of Brazil's best musicians for O Nosso Amor, an exploration that draws heavily from the music of the greatest Brazilian composers. Accompanied by guitarist Romero Lubambo and bassist Nilson Matta (two-thirds of Trio da Paz), plus percussionists Paulinho Braga, Guilherme Franco and Jorge Silva, Weinstein is clearly a master of Brazilian jazz, alternating between soprano, alto and bass flutes to fit the mood of each piece. Highlights include Weinstein's cheerful bossa nova "Marka Som," the engaging "Lugar Comum" (featuring Matta extensively), Lubabmbo's exciting "Frevo Camarada" (which suggests the frenetic dancing in the streets), and the lyrical "Por Causa de Voce." Highly recommended.

--Ken Dryden
All Music Guide

  Available Items by Mark Weinstein About Mark Weinstein 

Website: http://jazzfluteweinstein.com

Jazz Flutist plays World based Jazz and Post-Bebop with world-class musicians rooted in Afro-Cuban, Brazilian, African, Jewish and Indian traditions. A Latin Jazz innovator, Mark was among the first jazz musicians to record with traditional Cuban rhythm sections. His signature album, Cuban Roots, released in 1967 is a classic with Mark on trombone and Chick Corea on piano in an epic making statement that transformed Latin Jazz. His recent recordings include such notables as Cuban pianist Omar Sosa, Brazilian guitarist Romero Lubambo, percussionists Francisco Aguabella, Cyro Baptista and Pedrito Martinez, bassists Santi Debriano, Nilson Mata and Mike Richmond as well as guitarists Jean Paul Bourelly, Vic Juris, Brad Shepik and Ed Cherry and drummers Cindy Blackman, Paulo Braga and Cecil Brooks III.

(0) - $0.00

Email Address:

Privacy Policy